Drunk drivers cause considerable damage on Texas roads. According to Department of Transportation statistics, over 1,000 people in Texas were killed in alcohol-related crashes in 2017. Tens of thousands of other people are seriously injured by drunk drivers every year. If you were injured in a drunk driving accident, you are probably wondering what compensation you can receive. Read on for more information. Compensatory Damages If you were hit by a drunk driver, settlement negotiations will focus mostly on compensatory damages. These are the losses that you suffered as a result of the drunk driving crash. The purpose of civil lawsuits is to put the victim in the position she would have been in had no accident took place. In other words, the drunk driver should shoulder the fallout of the accident, not the victim. To this end, you can receive compensation for economic losses, such as: The cost of medical care and rehabilitation Lost wages or lost self-employment income Property damage, such as damage to your vehicle The settlement should ideally cover the entire economic loss. If your medical bills and lost wages total $30,000, then you should receive at least that much. However, you can also receive compensation for non-economic losses that don’t have an obvious market value; things like: Physical pain and suffering Inconvenience Loss of enjoyment of life Disfigurement Emotional distress or mental anguish How much can you receive in non-economic losses? There is no set standard or magic formula to use. A seasoned attorney can rely on his experience to estimate an amount that seems fair. Obviously, you would like your old body back, but receiving compensation for physical and mental anguish is the next best thing. And it’s the only thing courts can give you. Punitive Damages In Texas, punitive damages are called “exemplary” damages. These are not meant to compensate a victim but instead focus on punishing the defendant. Exemplary damages are available when there is clear and convincing evidence that a defendant acted with fraud, malice, or gross negligence. Drunk driving usually qualifies as an example of gross negligence. However, an insurance company will not offer punitive damages in a settlement, so suing a drunk driver might be your only option. An attorney can help you bring a lawsuit in court. Texas does cap punitive damages, usually between $200,000 and $750,000. Speak with an Experienced Houston Car Accident Lawyer As a leading Houston personal injury firm, we receive questions from the public, one of which is, “A drunk driver hit me, what happens now?” Because every case is different, you should hire an attorney to help you. At Milano Legal Group Accident Attorneys, we have worked on many drunk driving cases and know what it takes to win. We will do everything in our power to get the maximum settlement you are entitled to under the law, and we aren’t afraid to go into court if need be. To schedule a free consultation, please contact our Houston drunk driver accident lawyers today.
In the aftermath of a crash, even a minor one, obtaining an official accident report seems like a hassle on top of everything else you are dealing with. Obtaining a Dallas County accident report, however, is a very important and necessary step if you want to make sure that you and other involved parties get the justice they deserve. Fortunately, the Dallas County Sheriff offers several convenient ways to obtain a Dallas County accident report: either online, in person, or by mail. How to Get Your Dallas County Police Reports Online You can obtain a copy of your Dallas County police reports online from the Dallas County Sheriff’s website for $8.00. Under Texas law, only people directly concerned with the accident may obtain a non-redacted version of the crash report, so it’s good to have your driver’s license number or vehicle identification number (VIN) available when searching for your reports. Keep in mind that it may take up to 14 days after the crash before your report appears in the search results. How to Get Your Crash Report In Person A copy of your Dallas County accident report can also be obtained by visiting the Fiscal Department of the Frank Crowley Courts Building, located at: 133 North Riverfront Boulevard 1st Floor Dallas, TX 75207 The office is open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. How to Get Your Crash Report By Mail Finally, you can also request your Dallas county police report by mail. To do so, you need to send a money order in the amount of $6.00 (no personal checks) payable to the Dallas County Sheriff’s Department along with a self-addressed and stamped return envelope. The money order and envelope should then be addressed to: Dallas County Sheriff’s Department Attention: Fiscal 133 North Riverfront Boulevard, LB-31 Dallas, TX 75207 After Getting Your Report, Get Help with Your Case If you or a loved one were injured in an accident, a car accident attorney can make sure you are properly compensated for the pain and suffering endured. Contact Milano Legal Group today.
In the stressful time following an accident, it can be difficult to think about obtaining a police report. Doing so, however, is crucial to making sure you get what you deserve and hold the responsible party accountable. Luckily, obtaining San Antonio police reports is easy and can be done in a few simple steps. 1. Make Sure You Have the Right Information Before requesting an accident report, make sure you have the following information: The exact date of the accident The location of the accident The name of a person involved If you have a case number, it may make it easier to find your report, however, the Sheriff’s office does not require it. 2. Request the Report in Person or By Mail Once you have the required information, San Antonio police reports can be requested in person or by mail. Requesting Your Report in Person If you want to request your report in person, you need to visit the Bexar County Adult Detention Center at the following address: Bexar County Sheriff’s Office Central Records, Reports Desk 200 N. Comal Street San Antonio, TX 78207 The office is open from 7:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. The service fee for obtaining an accident report is $6.00. A certified accident report can be obtained for $8.00. Requesting Your Report By Mail If you want to request your report by mail, you need to send a self-addressed, stamped envelope, along with a money order payable to “Sheriff, Bexar County” in the amount of $6.00, to Bexar County Sheriff’s Office Central Records, Reports Desk 200 N. Comal Street San Antonio, TX 78207 A certified accident report can be obtained for $8.00. Get Help with Your Case If you or a loved one were injured in an accident, getting you San Antonio police report is just the first step. Contact Milano Legal Group today to speak with experienced car accident attorneys about getting the compensation you deserve.
Car accidents can be expensive. In addition to needing your car repaired, you also might need medical care. If your injuries were serious, you might have missed work and lost out on income. It is not unusual for even a relatively minor fender bender to cost thousands of dollars. If you were injured, you should get the at-fault driver’s insurer to pay you. You can submit a claim to the insurer without a lawyer’s help, but you must take the right steps. Below, we explain how to get money from a car accident without a lawyer. Keep in mind that generally, settlements are significantly higher if a lawyer is on your side. You can file yourself, but car accident insurance claims are complex, especially if injuries are involved. You may also have to go to court, and in that case especially, it is in your best interest to be represented by a lawyer. Note How Much Time You Have Texas has a statute of limitations that gives you 2 years from the date of the crash to bring a claim. If you miss the deadline, an insurer will not negotiate with you. Take careful note of the amount of time you have left. You probably won’t make a claim right away with the insurer. Instead, you will wait until you reach maximum medical improvement. This is the point at which you can’t get any better, and the full extent of your losses will be known. Of course, even if you are recovering slowly, you need to get a claim in before the statute of limitations expires. Collect Important Documents The at-fault driver’s insurer needs certain information from you before they can agree to a settlement. You should pull together the following: Medical records that show the full extent of your injuries. Medical bills and receipts for prescription drugs or medical equipment. These bills help show how much your care costs. Even if you used your health insurance to pay, you should submit the full amount of all your medical bills. A copy of the crash report. You should have called the police to come out to the accident scene. Evidence of missed work. You can receive compensation, even if you used sick or vacation days to recover from your injuries. Bills for repairs to your vehicle or other damaged property. Pictures of the accident scene, including pictures of the vehicles involved in the crash. These pictures help “set the scene” for the insurance adjuster to understand what happened. Submit a Demand Letter You should add up the amount of money the accident cost you. These are your economic losses, and you should expect to receive 100%. Also remember to include money for any pain and suffering or emotional distress. Submit your evidence and a demand to the insurer. They might immediately reject your offer and make a lower counteroffer. You will need to negotiate until you hit a number that works for you. Of course, many people do not know how much to request. In particular, they do not properly value their pain and suffering or other intangible losses. This is where Milano Legal Group Accident Attorneys can be helpful. Based on our experience, we can properly value your injuries and then negotiate a tough but fair settlement for your injuries. Please contact our Houston car accident lawyers today to get started. We offer a free consultation.
One of the most common questions our clients involved in auto accidents ask is how much their settlement is worth, and how often auto accident settlements exceed the policy limits in Texas. The answer, like many questions asked about the law, is that it depends. While it is possible for a settlement to exceed the policy limits, it does not happen very often. There are complex rules about collecting personal injury settlements that exceed insurance policy limits that only an experienced auto accident attorney should handle. For perspective on your case, schedule a free consultation with a knowledgeable attorney at the Milano Legal Group in Houston today. Texas Auto Insurance Policy Limits Texas law requires that all drivers maintain auto insurance on their vehicles that includes liability coverage in case of an accident. The minimum limits for liability coverage are $30,000 for bodily injury to a single person, $60,000 for bodily injury for any one accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage. It is possible to obtain more coverage than the minimum coverage amounts, but it is completely dependent on the driver. In a typical car accident case, an insurance company will pay up to the policy limits for their at fault driver in an accident. In order to collect more than the policy limits in an accident, the victim must go after the personal assets of the at fault party. Civil Judgements for Accident Cases For cases that exceed the policy limits in compensation, Texas law allows for a victim to go after the personal assets of the person at fault for the accident. However, property is split into two categories: exempt and non-exempt assets, and civil judgements may only collect on non-exempt property. Exempt property includes the primary residence, car, wages, vehicles and equipment used in that person’s trade, personal furnishings, some retirements accounts, and other items of property. Non-exempt assets refer to items such as a vacation home, additional cars, certain retirement accounts, and a few other limited assets. As such, it can be difficult to collect compensation for settlements that go beyond the policy limits in an auto accident. One exception to this rule is the Stowers doctrine. Under this rule, if your attorney offered a reasonable settlement within the policy limits that was rejected, and the court awards you with compensation beyond the policy limits, the person at fault for the accident can go after their own insurance company for the money owed to the victim beyond the auto policy limits. These issues can get incredibly complex, so it is critical that you have a knowledgeable attorney by your side to ensure that you receive the full compensation owed for your injuries. Call or Contact the Office Now For a free consultation of your car accident case, call the office or contact us at the Milano Legal Group to speak with an experienced auto accident attorney in Houston about your claims today.
Being involved in a car accident is a scary, confusing, and often painful experience. There are a multitude of things that you must consider and focus on immediately after an accident, such as medical treatment, rental cars, your job, and your family. Remembering to file a claim for injuries can fall down the priority list, but it is critical that you file a claim in order to receive compensation for your damages after a crash. Texas law provides only a small window in which you can file a lawsuit for your injuries after an accident and securing the services of an experienced Houston car accident lawyer will ensure that your claim is preserved in court. To learn more about how long you have after an accident to file a case, call or contact the professionals at the Milano Legal Group in Houston today. Texas Statute of Limitations In order to avoid buildup in the court system and to avoid lawsuits being filed long after the initial incident, all states have limits on how long a person has to file a lawsuit for damages in court. This is known as the statute of limitations, and failure to file a claim within the statute of limitations can result in your case being thrown out of court. This bars you from recovering compensation for the injuries sustained in an accident that was not your fault. In Texas, all personal injury cases, including car accident cases, have a statute of limitations of two years from the date of the accident in which to file a claim. The two-year limit applies to all types of vehicle accidents where a person is injured, including car, truck, and motorcycle accidents. However, there is one exception to the two year rule, which occurs when the accident involves a state government entity. If the accident involves a state entity or government employee, you must first file a claim with the government within six months of the original accident. Failure to do so can invalidate your case for damages even if you file a lawsuit in court within the two-year statute of limitations. An experienced personal injury attorney will be able to review your claims to ensure that all procedural requirements like the statute of limitations are met in order to secure your case. It is important to note that the statute of limitations does not require that the entire court case be settled within two years of the accident, merely that the case is filed in court to preserve the claims. Depending on the complexity of your car accident case, settlement could happen much quicker or take longer than the two years limitations windows. Talk to Our Office Today At the Milano Legal Group, we pride ourselves on making the case process as easy and painless as possible for our clients that are already suffering from injuries inflicted in an accident. To schedule a free consultation of your claims, call or contact our office in Houston today.
A total of 640 people died last year on Houston-area roads, trailing only Dallas as the deadliest major metro area in the nation. If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident in the metro Houston, it is critical that you get a copy of your Harris County crash report. Whether or not you were injured, obtaining this form is critical should you pursue a personal injury claim. Your Houston car accident attorney will want to review the accident report as part of their investigation and will use it to build a strong, convincing case on your behalf. How to Get Your Harris County Police Department Accident Report Online Harris County accident reports can be obtained online at the Harris County Sheriff’s Department website for $6.00. A certified copy can be ordered for $8.00. To order your online accident report, you will need to provide the following information: State Jurisdiction And one of the following: Report Number Last Name Date of Incident Location Street Name(s) How to Get Your Harris County Police Department Accident Report In-Person You may visit any of the below locations to purchase a report: District 1 Substation – 6831 Cypresswood, Spring, Texas 77379 832-927-2997 District 2 Substation – 7900 Will Clayton, Humble, Texas 77338 281-446-9155 District 3 Substation – 14350 Wallisville, Houston, Texas 77049 713-455-8050 District 4 Substation – 16715 Clay Rd., Houston, Texas 77084 832-927-7200 District 5 Substation – 23828 Tomball Pkwy., Tomball, Texas 77375 832-927-2140 After You Get Your Harris County Accident Report, Get Help with Your Case If you need assistance in obtaining your report or seeking justice, contact the Milano Legal Group today for a free, no strings attached case evaluation.
Fort Worth is the fifth deadliest city for auto accidents in the state of Texas, with over 16,000 crashes involving 84 fatalities in 2018. If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident, it is critical that you get a copy of your Fort Worth car accident report. Accident reports can serve as crucial evidence when filing a claim for your car accident damages and injuries. How to Get Your Fort Worth Police Department Accident Report Online Fort Worth accident reports can be obtained online at the Fort Worth Police Department’s website for $11.00. To order your online accident report, you will need to provide the following information: Report Number Incident Date Incident Location Intersecting Street (if applicable) Involved Last Name Involved Driver’s License# Insurance Company How to Get Your Crash Report In-Person Fort Worth accident reports can be picked up in person at the Fort Worth Police Records Division located at: 1000 Calvert Street Fort Worth, TX 76107 Their customer service hours are Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. How to Get Your Crash Report By Mail To request your crash report by mail, you will need to fill out a customer order form and send the form along with a money order in the amount of $6.00 (payable to the Forth Worth Police Department), along with a self-addressed stamped envelope, to: Fort Worth Police Records Division 350 West Belknap St. Fort Worth, Texas 76102-2004 If you choose to request an accident report through the mail there is an additional search fee of $6.00. After You Get Your Fort Worth Accident Report, Get Help with Your Case If you or a loved one were involved in a car accident, it is important that you get your Fort Worth Accident Report right away. If you need help obtaining your report or filing your case, contact the Milano Legal Group today for a free case evaluation. Our Houston car accident lawyers are eager to help you get justice.